Members & Candidates Mix at SCS Home Entertainment & National Home Products

At the October membership meeting, HBA members had a chance to meet and hear from general election candidates, including those supported by your political action committee, the Coalition for Building a Better Tomorrow (CBBT).

[slideshow id=45 w=320 h=240]

Click here to enlarge slideshow

At the meeting Matt Bailey, HBA President, also thanked the 2012 Coalition Advocacy Investors for providing us with the resources that make political advocacy possible at this level: Conco Companies, Herrman Lumber, Meek’sThe Builders Choice, Midwest Block & Brick, Southern Materials Company, Southern Supply Company, Tidwell Concrete, Metro Appliances & More and Taylor Marble. “While you are working hard in your businesses, the HBA is working hard behind the scenes with many of these elected leaders on policy that will help, rather than hinder, housing construction,” said Bailey. Want to review those advocacy successes to date? Take a look at the meeting hand-out (page 2) by clicking here.

Upon request, your political advocacy committee meets with and interviews candidates for general election at the local and state level. Based on an evaluation process involving housing policy-related issues, that committee will often make a recommendation for financial support from the CBBT.

In the November 2012 general election cycle, the following candidates in contested races have received contributions from the Coalition for Building a Better Tomorrow. Please remember to vote on Tuesday, November 6!

– Dave Spence, Candidate for Governor –

– Shane Schoeller, Candidate for Secretary of State –

– Rep. Eric Burlison, MO House District 133 –

– Rep. Sandy Crawford, MO House District 129 –

– Rep. Kevin Elmer, MO House District 139 –

– Rep. Lyndall Fraker, MO House District 137 –

– Elijah Haahr, MO House District 134 (Open seat) –

– Rep. Lincoln Hough, MO House District 135 –

– Ray Weter, Christian Co. Eastern Commissioner –

– Justin Hill, Candidate for Greene Co. Treasurer –