HBA Charitable Foundation Donates $57,500 to Oklahoma Tornado Relief

On Friday, May 24, the Home Builders Association of Greater Springfield Charitable Foundation presented a check for $57,500 to Convoy of Hope. The donation comes from the HBA Charitable Foundation’s Disaster Relief Account and will be used for disaster relief in Moore, Oklahoma, which was heavily damaged by a tornado on May 20, 2013 and again June 2, 2013.

Debi Murray, President of the HBA Charitable Foundation, said, “After seeing the devastation in Moore, Oklahoma, the HBA Charitable Foundation knew we needed to help. It is our hope that the funds donated will help to rebuild lives of those affected by this disaster.”

Convoy of Hope is headquartered in Springfield, MO and works to provide help and hope to people in need in the United States and around the world through children’s feeding initiatives, community outreaches, disaster response, and partner resourcing. In disaster situations, Convoy of Hope is considered a “first responder” organization, providing essentials to people in areas afflicted by natural disasters.

Founded in 1990, the Home Builders Association Charitable Foundation exists to promote workforce development and charitable outreach related to the building trades. Since its formation, the HBA Charitable Foundation has provided over $100,000 in scholarship funding and departmental grants, and it has sponsored projects such as low income housing creation through Habitat for Humanity, Lost and Found Grief Center, andExtreme Makeover: Home Edition in Springfield and Joplin.

Pictured are (left to right): Sam Clifton, Millstone Custom Homes, HBA Board Member; Sam Bradley, Sam Bradley Homes, HBA Board Member; Jim Batten, Executive Vice President, Convoy of Hope; Debi Murray, Murney Associates, HBA Charitable Foundation President; Jaimie Trussell, Developmental Director, Convoy of Hope; Debbie Speake, Springfield Electric, HBA Charitable Foundation Board Member; Scott Kisling, Up-Tyte Design & Build LLC, HBA Charitable Foundation Board Member.